Marvel-lous Upcycling

Yesterday afternoon, completely on a whim, I decided to pay a visit to a local furniture recycling centre. I’ve had some absolute bargains from them in the past, you have to be quick though to get the good stuff. I was on the hunt for an ugly bedside cabinet. Sure enough, I found this.

2015/01/img_5032.jpg
Not pretty is it? Perfect though for what I wanted and at just £5 you can’t complain.
This is going into one of the kids bedrooms. The one who’s a huge marvel fan. I marvelised these drawers just a few weeks ago.

2015/01/img_4902.jpg
I’m giving this sorry, sad cabinet the same treatment. It’s such a simple, cost effective project but such a transformation. The paper was £1.00 I think from Primark and the deco patch glue I already had (as any true crafter should!) I think it’s about £8.00 for this size bottle but lasts for ages.

2015/01/img_5034.jpg
After giving all the surfaces a good clean with soapy water, I started cutting the paper to size. I was then set to start sticking. Just apply a layer of the glue to one of the surfaces. You have to be quite careful when putting the paper on as it’s not easy to move once touching the glue so go slow! Fold any overlaps neatly on the corners and glue them down. Repeat until every surface is done, then apply a good coat of the glue over the whole surface. Once dry this gives it a more durable finish and seals it.

2015/01/img_5033.jpg
I left this to dry properly overnight. It needs at least a few hours before you can start using it.

2015/01/img_5031.jpg
Once my nice, blue glass knobs arrive from eBay to match the other drawers, this will be complete! I love projects that just happen, completely unplanned and really quick results too.

2 thoughts on “Marvel-lous Upcycling

  1. Shaun September 8, 2015 / 12:20 am

    Is this wallpaper or wrapping paper??

    Like

    • Vicki September 8, 2015 / 6:36 am

      Hi Shaun, this is wrapping paper,

      Like

Leave a Reply

