Easy like a Saturday morning

IMG_5152
I love the slow and easy feeling of a Saturday morning. A bit of a lie-in, just a bit mind with a 14 month old! A yummy bowl of warm porridge and the sun streaming through the windows at the front of the house making pretty patterns on the wall.

IMG_5153
A little happy playtime. He actually played with these bricks for the first time, built them rather than destroy them. It was a lovely moment.

IMG_5139
I did a spot of baking yesterday, something for the family for when they come home from school & work. I love any excuse to pop my Cath Kidston apron on!

IMG_5137
I adapted the recipe I have for the lemon drizzle cake. This one’s a chocolate chip cake, the recipe is quite simple.

125g butter
175g caster sugar
2 eggs
175g self raising flour
4 tbsp milk
1 bag milk choc chips
1 tsp vanilla extract

Cream butter & sugar until fluffy, gradually beat in eggs. Mix in sieved flour then add milk & vanilla extract. Mixture should be soft enough to drop off the spoon. Line a loaf tin, bake at 180* for 40-45 minutes until risen, golden & firm on top. Leave in tin until cooled completely. You should get something that looks a bit like this…

IMG_5138
Needless to say it didn’t last long with my bunch, the little man polished off the last slice this afternoon. I’m so happy he likes my cooking 😊

Leave a comment