I’m hooked!

Well I’ve finally got around to posting about my new favourite thing, crochet. Been too busy hooking! It took some getting the hang of I can tell you, but I was determined I was going to keep trying until I managed it. I spent many hours on you tube watching various tutorials, had my stack of books from the library which I studied. The books weren’t really helping me to learn, they gave me plenty of inspiration though. Lots & lots of projects I’d like to have a go at. I found I needed real, moving pictures to show me, where I could pause, try, play, pause, catch up, play, then rewind…. And do it all again! I just kept plodding on until that moment where that little switch in your head flicks on and you just GET IT. It’s just a case of finding a way that you understand, that makes perfect sense. It can be different for everyone.

My friend who’s an amazing knitter had wanted to learn to crochet for a while too. She’d gotten really frustrated and hadn’t found any tutorials that helped her. She decided to start a little crochet group at her house once a week. What a fantastic idea that was! There was talk of us maybe paying someone to come & teach us as a group but I think we’re doing amazingly on our own. There’s 3 of us so far and it’s working really well. We’ve all mastered the granny square and our first blankets are growing nicely. I’ve done about 25 squares up till now, not sure how many I’ll need for the finished product. It’s going to be for Baby J so won’t need to be huge. Here’s a little look at some of the squares so you can get an idea of what it’ll look like.

IMG_5136

IMG_5135
I took these photos a couple of weeks ago now so my little stack has grown quite a bit. It’s very satisfying seeing them all piled up! I’m trying to do a square a day, more if I can. I try and start a square while baby j is in the bath, any little opportunity. That’s the good thing about crochet, you can pick it up and do as little or as much as you want. The putting it down is getting harder, I say to myself, just one more row…. I’ll just go to the next corner….
My husband will look over at me in the evenings, see I’m hooking again and roll his eyes! Last night though I took shelter in the tranquil environment of my dining room while there was a big footy match going on. A little crochet accompanied by a glass of red made for a pleasant evening šŸ˜‰ xx

IMG_5349

2 thoughts on “I’m hooked!

  1. Clare Burlace February 11, 2015 / 5:43 pm

    Brilliant! I’ve tried so many times to crochet but I end up with a knot. Any help appreciated!!!!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. daniellajoe February 11, 2015 / 10:04 pm

    It is looking really good.. I love to teach crochet too, I hope you visit with me šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

