Homely weekend

I fancied doing a spot of baking on Saturday, so as soon as the little man was having his nap, on went my magic ck apron that attempts to transform me into some kind of domestic goddess. It was going to be a glorious couple of hours of solitude in my kitchen creating yummy chocolate brownies and some choc chip cookies, which taste rather like the ones you get in the bakery with a girls name that rhymes with Billie! After sending my eldest son to the corner shop for a VIPurchase of plain chocolate, I got started on the cookies. Here’s the recipe for them:-

125g butter, softened

100g light brown soft sugar

125g caster sugar

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

225g self-raising flour

1/2 tsp salt

100g milk chocolate chips

Cream the butter and sugars together, then combine in egg & vanilla. Sift in flour and salt then add the choc chips. You should end up with a lovely looking mixture like this..



Roll into walnut sized balls and place onto trays lined with greaseproof paper and bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees for 7-10 minutes. 



I do mine for 7 so the middle is still a little gooey, yum! Leave to cool on the tray before attempting to move them. Et voila…



Don’t do what I did however, after the timer had gone off for the first lot, I turned it off and carried on with the brownies only to forget the cookies still baking to a crisp in the oven, doh! Luckily there was still plenty of cookie dough left to make another 16 or so.

So now to the brownies.

85g butter

140g caster sugar

100g soft brown sugar

125g plain chocolate broken into pieces

1 tbsp golden syrup

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

100g plain flour

2 tbsp cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

Grease or line a 20cm square tin. Place butter, sugars, chocolate and syrup in a saucepan and heat gently until well blended. Leave aside to cool.



Beat eggs and vanilla, whisk the cooled chocolate mixture into bowl. Sift together flour, cocoa and baking powder and fold carefully into mixture with a metal spoon. You’ll end up with a lovely bowl of chocolate heaven, scrummy!



Looks like something out of Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory! Anyways, pour it into your lined tin and bake for 25 minutes at 180 degrees. Remove from oven and leave to cool completely then slice into desired portions.



These went down well with my lot, they take longer to make than they do to get demolished. A little tip, if you have any cookie dough left over, try freezing on some greaseproof paper until hard then cut into little bitty chunks and store in a plastic container in the freezer to sprinkle over your ice cream, it’s delish!



On Sunday morning, which was Mother’s Day here in the UK, I was treated to a lovely cooked breakfast by my hubby. I got some pretty cards from the kiddiwinks and they’d all contributed towards a pamper session for me in our local salon, I can’t wait. The weather was fine so we spent a bit of time in the garden. The chickens love having a good old root around, it’s quite entertaining just sitting watching them.







I’m really pleased with how our new girls have settled in, there’s been no squabbles at all and they’re all getting on just fine.

One other thing that happened this weekend which has got me extremely excited is four big bags full of gorgeous fabric, lace and trimmings. 



My very talented friend Emma had a clear out of her studio and was looking to rehome these bits. I didn’t hesitate! There’s some absolutely beautiful pieces in there, some vintage, silks and pretty lace. I kept looking through it all, got quite giddy with excitement for all the possible projects. My mum would be very jealous if she saw this little lot, if only I’d inherited her talent when it came to sewing.



These photos really don’t do it any justice. I’m off to fetch my shiny new sewing machine from the cellar, well I say new. I bought it with birthday money from my mum for my 40th in October last year & haven’t had a chance to try it out yet.  Excited & nervous all at the same time. I’ll leave you with this beautiful helibore from our garden, spring won’t be far off now, I can feel it. Xx



One thought on “Homely weekend

  1. katelikestocreate March 17, 2015 / 2:26 am

    Oh, yum! I might need to try both these recipes – note to self: don’t read blogs when hungry!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

