Run a bit, walk a lot 

I’ve been trying to do more exercise lately, I really could do with losing a few lbs and toning up a bit. If you’re a woman of my age then you’ll know that things start going south a bit. And east and west, but never North! I’m so unfit though so I’m easing myself in gently. I decided to go for a run this morning and as we’re very lucky living on a peninsula we have our pick of gorgeous coastline, perfect for a gentle run. Lots of long, flat pathways with not many people about and a stunning view while you’re doing it. 

  
It was a bit grey this morning but surprisingly mild. Obviously Baby J was with me so pushing the buggy whilst running makes it so much harder.

  
Very conveniently, I had to make lots of stops to take some photos (catch my breath). I could only run a short distance then had to walk a bit. Run a bit more, walk a bit more…… 

  
There were quite a few other people around too. Some dog walkers, some cyclists, some birdwatchers but mainly runners. They all looked far more professional than me and I didn’t see one of them stop like me. But there was something quite lovely about it, like we all belonged to this little feel-good, fresh air, fitness family. Most of them acknowledged you with a nod or a knowing smile. It felt very wholesome and good.

   
 

I’d never come to this end of the beach before. There were lots of nautical things to photograph, yay!

   
     

I love the blues of these boats, you can imagine seeing them floating on the Mediterranean with the sun beating down on them. There was a carpet of seaweed just before the sand.

  
And plenty of sea sponge looking things…

  
The tide was way out, it looked like it was miles away. As we were heading back, a little bit of blue sky was appearing through the grey, a fine sunny day was on its way. 

Xxx

7 thoughts on “Run a bit, walk a lot 

  1. hannahbananacrafts May 23, 2015 / 8:40 pm

    Very jealous of where you live – such lovely photos (especially love those blue boats!). I live very much inland 😦 I like you have decided it’s time to sort my weight and fitness. I have a fitbit (which I have linked to my fitness pal) and spend my days walking EVERYWHERE. I haven’t been as brave as you yet and tried running as the vision that image creates is awful lol. I may one day……. Good luck with it ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki May 23, 2015 / 8:52 pm

      Thank you! Well done for getting started on the fitness routine. Walking is definitely the best way of exercising without it feeling like a chore. You should give running a go though if u fancy it, doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks 😊 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • hannahbananacrafts May 23, 2015 / 9:04 pm

        Ha ha you haven’t seen me! I’m already a stone and dress size down so you never know I may just find some courage, quite possibly at 6am when there are fewer people around to see!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vicki May 23, 2015 / 9:09 pm

        Wow! Well done!! That’s amazing. Don’t think I’ll ever get as far as that but will keep trying. X

        Like

  2. Paardje May 26, 2015 / 1:19 am

    Beautiful photos! As to the fitness endeavor: keep at it, every single step counts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

