Happy weekendy stuff

I woke up on Friday morning and looked out of the window to see a grey, rainy and generally yucky day outside. But something was telling me I needed to get out there. Like I needed to breath in big lungfulls of damp, warm, fresh air. So after breakfast that’s exactly what we did. I needed to go to the shops for a few baking and bbq bits so with coats and rain-covers, we headed off by foot instead of the car. It felt good. It was so peaceful and still, the rain had stopped but everywhere underfoot was wet. I absolutely love the smell you get after the rains have been. A real earthy, leafy smell. The smell of the outdoors and nature. It’s only about a twenty minute walk to our closest supermarket, and a rather nice walk it is too.

  
I’m sure we’ll be paying many visits to these fields with Baby J and a ball.

  
It was spookily quiet out, not another soul to be seen.

After we’d been to the shops we walked back the same way, admiring the gorgeous colours sprouting from the old walls.

  
I’ve been wanting to have a go at making elderflower cordial, so have been on the lookout for elderflower growing in the hedgerows. I’m not 100% sure what I’m looking for really. I saw this on our way home but need to do a bit more research. If anyone out there knows if this is the right stuff, do let me know!

 
Once home and Baby J tucked up in bed, I made this yummy cake ready for my step-sons 13th birthday.

  
Not bad for a packet mix. Tasted good and got brownie points for adding mini Oreos & chocolate fingers. We finished the day with another bbq as the weather had been kind for the rest of the afternoon.

Saturday morning was glorious. Look at that blue sky …

  
We were able to eat breakfast, lunch & tea outside which was lovely. 

  It was very warm, and I managed to get a wee bit sunburnt, oops! I sat outdoors and did one of my favourite summertime things, podding peas! I remember helping my nan do it when I was a little girl & have loved it ever since.

  
Look at those perfect peas ready to be popped from their pod!

  
It’s a wonder that so many made it into the bowl. They’re so scrummy to eat straight from the pod. A lovely way to spend half an hour, with a little magazine time of course. August’s issue landed on my doormat this morning, can you believe it!! I’ve never got why they’re so ahead.

Late afternoon we decided to bundle everyone into the car, dogs and all, and head ten minutes to the beach. It was so nice, very breezy, but not too many people about. Perfect for the dogs to have a good run & Baby J to have his first proper paddle. He loved it!

   
 

He cried when we had to leave, aw, I did feel bad. We’ll definitely go back soon and for longer.

Sunday morning was forecast for heavy rain, but it wasn’t actually too bad. So me, hubby, baby j & the dogs piled back in the car and went off to west kirby marina for a walk. It was still tough to get parked even with the weather.

   
  

 

It is a good place to come for a walk, just the right length. It takes about 30-40 minutes to get around the whole lake. You can see right across to Wales from here, it’s an amazing sight.

   
   

Well that’s it for my tales for now. I hope you enjoy taking a little peek into my life and out & about on my mini travels. I know I like having this blog to be able to look back on. I really will be doing some crafting this week too so I’ll be back soon to tell you all about that and show you my fantabulous new kitchen too. 

Xxx

2 thoughts on “Happy weekendy stuff

  1. Hannahbanana Crafts June 28, 2015 / 3:37 pm

    Ooh, that cake looks amazing. I look forward to the kitchen tour. I’m deeply envious of lovely kitchens as mine is the size of a shoe box!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki June 28, 2015 / 3:42 pm

      Ah thank you! We were lucky to have a good sized kitchen but it’s an unusual shape so it was a case of maximising its potential. Just a shelf to go up and a few pictures then I’ll snap away! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

