The Baking Room

Hello! Well it’s finally time to show you all the work that’s happened in our kitchen, or as I like to think of it now, the baking room! I’ve been in the mood for baking lots recently, wonder if it’s anything to do with the new kitchen? Let’s hope this mood is here to stay.

I took just a couple of before pictures, just before it got ripped out and taken back to nothing.

   
 
We decided to keep the floor as it was, the range cooker, dishwasher and the island. Everything else has changed though. We’re lucky to have a really good sized kitchen and it has high ceilings so we tried our best to make the most of that and chose an ikea kitchen which is a bit more flexible. That also helped us overcome our odd shaped room. It has a funny angle on one side.

Here’s a few progress pictures to see how it came together.   
   Now I know the units are incredibly high but it creates a lot of useful storage which would be just dead space otherwise. We’ve already filled all those cupboards, it’s amazing how easy it was. I have a handy little step-stool to help me reach.
So here’s the finished product… 

    
    
    
    

 The work tops are solid oak so weren’t cheap but I’m so happy with how they look. They took about 6 coats of oil before we could use them and will need a light sand and oil every year but they’ll last us for at least 20 years if we look after them well.
I’m loving the Belfast style sink too, it’s huge! 

   
It took surprisingly more effort than it should have but I got my shelf above the sink to have all my jars on. Been waiting ages to use my chalk pen & labels. 

 On the other side of the kitchen is one of my favourite parts, the dresser unit. 

    
 Finally got all my lovely collections on proud display, including my beautiful TG Green Cornishware. My hubby and I have been collecting this for as long as we’ve been together. I’m always on the look out for more to add to it, if anyone sees a coffee pot lid please let me know!

Did you spot the wallpaper? It’s lovely isn’t it? 

 I saw it in my Ideal Home magazine and had been looking for ages without any luck. I just knew it was the one as soon as I saw it. It was available online only, and was quite expensive but I’m so glad we went for it. It really finishes the look off. 

 Makes a nice backdrop for my vintage tins bought at auction a few years ago. As you can see I’ve used every last bit of available display space! Here’s my jug collection on top of another cupboard.  


And finally, after some gentle nagging, my hubby put up my tin signs which I love so much. 

   I’m so happy that it’s all finished now, it was quite stressfull while the work was getting done, but so worth it. 

I’m off to The Baking Room now to get my apron on and bake some yummy cakes and cookies. See you all soon, Vicki xx
  
 
 

4 thoughts on “The Baking Room

  1. Hannahbanana Crafts July 25, 2015 / 3:19 pm

    Simply gorgeous. No wonder you are spending more time in there. If I had a kitchen like that I would never want to leave it! Totally jealous as my kitchen is tiny.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

