Big boys bedroom 

We’ve made a few changes in Baby J’s bedroom, what with him officially becoming a toddler and everything. He has the littlest room in the house but it’s such a lovely, light room. It was always screaming out to be a gorgeous nursery. It has a nautical theme which I love (obviously as I chose it!) but I do hope he does too. 

  
The first thing we had to do was turn his cot into a toddler bed. I thought it would be really difficult coping with the change but he seems to be dealing with it very well. We put the bed guard on so he doesn’t roll out in his sleep. So far so good. 

  
This is his changing table/chest of drawers. It’s perfect for our needs especially with the handy shelf above to store all the essentials. The mirror was an auction buy a few years back, I think it looks rather like a porthole on a ship. The bunting I made before he was born. I still have some extra fabric left over, I must find something to make with it.

  
  
Here’s the mod podge project I did a blog post about a while back. I must do some more mod podging soon, it was great fun.

  
A few accessories to add that nautical feel!!

   
    
 
  
I had this idea a while ago of making a type of sail to hang across the ceiling. I imagined it with glow in the dark stars and moons shining through. When my mum visited last month, we were shopping for fabric and I finally found the perfect material for the sail. It needed to be really light, almost like parachute fabric. 

  
After cutting out and hemming, I had to thread cord along the two lengths.

  
Whatever you do, don’t lose it half way through..

  
I bought a load of glow in the dark stars, moons & planets from Amazon.

  
Once I finally got the sail up and the stars and moons sprinkled out, I must say, I was a little disappointed. You know how you get an image in your mind of how something will look, but it just doesn’t quite match up? It’s okay, just not exactly what I imagined it would be.

   
   
Overall, I love his little nautical room to bits. I hope it will do him for the next few years until he decides he wants something more grown up.

V xxx

3 thoughts on “Big boys bedroom 

    • Vicki September 21, 2015 / 9:42 pm

      Aw thanks. I bought it at auction with another mirror that I really wanted. This just sat around for ages waiting for a home. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. clare September 22, 2015 / 5:53 am

    Beautiful and I am sure that Jude loves it x. Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

