Leaf loving

I’m fully embracing the autumn and loving all the rich colours out there. Baby J and I went for a walk a couple of days ago with the sole intention of visiting the park. On the way home there were so many beautiful leaves on the ground, I was inspired to start picking some up to take home. Our village is often described as ‘leafy ‘ and they’re not wrong. The paths are covered with an autumnal colour palette right now and it looks stunning. Here’s my little haul of leafy loveliness…

   
   
Now I didn’t just decide to randomly collect a load of leaves for no particular reason, although they do look rather pretty just sitting there. No, I had a little crafty project in mind. It was quite funny when my hubby saw them. He asked what they were for and as I started to explain by saying, “well… ” he just saw the look on my face, rolled his eyes and said “some arty shit?” Ha ha, I’ve become so predictable!! I think he’ll just stop asking all together soon.

So, yesterday, I decided that that evening I would put my crafty idea into practice. I prepared the dining table ready for when I’d put Baby J to bed and it was MY time.

   
 
I knew keeping a load of baby food jars was a good idea!

By 7.30pm, I was sat at the table and ready to make. I started out by spreading a thin layer of mod podge around the jar.

   
 
It’s best to leave it for a minute or two until it’s a bit tacky, then start applying leaves. I had to hold them down for a little while to make them stick. Some of the leaves were a bit too crunchy and thick. The best ones were the waxy type, they were a bit more flexible. I kept sticking leaves all the way around and then finished them off with a bit of raffia tied around and popped a tea light in each of them.

What do you think?

  
    
 
   
 
   
 
I’m quite happy with how they turned out, the colours are amazing and they look really pretty all lit up. Can’t wait to light them up again tonight and get all cosy under a blanket .

Happy autumn lovelies xx

6 thoughts on “Leaf loving

    • Vicki October 9, 2015 / 10:37 am

      Steal away! I think I saw it on Pinterest last year xx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Erin and Sky November 13, 2015 / 4:15 pm

    Gorgeous! I wanted to do a leaf project this year but didn’t get my Mod Podge in time. I’ll have to keep this in mind for next year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

