The unidentified blanket 

If you’ve been reading my blog for a little while, you’ll remember that I took some crochet on holiday with me in the summer when we went camping in Wales. I needed something easy to do that didn’t require carrying loads of yarn around. My stepdaughter picked out some pink and purple sparkly yarn months ago for me to make her a blanket. I’ve really been struggling with the design for it. I tried one idea a while back but it just wasn’t going to work so I ended up undoing it. Just before we went away I decided I’d keep it really simple and just do a load of granny squares in the two colours.

  
Well since we came back, I hadn’t touched it, had no interest in it. But after I’d finished my happy blanket, I needed to be crocheting something. I know I still have my flower blanket which I haven’t picked up since I last blogged about it back in July, but I need to concentrate quite hard on that. I just wanted something quick and easy. I have another blanket planned for my hubby’s nan for Christmas, but I had to order some new yarn for that. Watch this space….

I looked at what I had already made and needed just one more purple square to complete the centre of the blanket.

   

The photos don’t really show the glitter very well but it’s quite nice.  I think the fact that there’s only the two colours may well have contributed to my difficulties in finding a design. You really need more colours I think.

These are the squares laid out.

  
Ahead of me lay the dreaded task of joining the squares, urgh…

   
   
That was a whole evening of solitude work in my dining room. I do enjoy the peace and quiet of the dining room, especially when I remember to put some good music on. It’s surprising how music can make you feel. I have a very varied taste in music so it very much depends on my mood as to what I listen to.

  
Once I’d joined them all, I did a round of treble crochet clusters all around then thought, what now? I had no clue! This blanket has no plan, no future, no identity. I didn’t want it to all be the same all the way around so I did a full row of treble crochet.

  
It took AGES!! I was kind of stuck what to do next. So I just ended up doing the same again in pink, which didn’t take anywhere near as long as the previous round. And that’s where I’ve left it for now. I will pick it back up again soon, when I have some clue what to do with it next.

If anyone has any inspiration for me, please get in touch! Xxx

4 thoughts on “The unidentified blanket 

Leave a Reply

