New tricks, new blanket 

Guess what the postie delivered to me the other day? My first ever mail order of yarn from the Wool Warehouse.

  
To say I was excited was a bit of an understatement, it felt like Christmas! I carefully opened it up…..

  
Wow! Posh wool! I love how it comes in it’s own little bag, it’ll be perfect to keep my WIP in. And the colours are beautiful too, just what I’d pictured when I ordered. This is all stylecraft special dk yarn. I’ve heard so many good things about it so thought it was high time I tried it for myself. It’s fantastic value for money too which is music to my ears. Now, this is for a few different projects. Some for my flower blanket, some for a secret Christmas present project, but mainly for my next blanket. Again, this will be a Christmas present, this time for my hubby’s nan. She’s quite poorly and her vision is very limited these days so she can only see bright colours. These are the ones I picked for her.

   
Lovely aren’t they? Perfect for the design I have in mind. The shades are 1116 green, 1246 lipstick, 1709 gold, 1117 royal, 1435 bright pink, 1061 plum.

  
I think it’s bright, fun and colourful, just like the lovely lady it’s for.

So let’s begin…. The first thing I had to do was a magic ring. I’d never had to do one before. I tried following the instructions in the book but couldn’t get to grips with it. I need visuals. So good old YouTube it was. After watching a few tutorials I found one that I understood.

  
I’m loving working with this yarn, it’s  so soft. Want to watch my first block grow? Excuse the poor pictures.

   
    
  
    

  
    
   
This final colour is when it started getting tricky. The rest of it was relatively straightforward but this last bit really tested me. My poor head was frazzled, I needed complete quiet to concentrate. I ended up undoing it twice before I finally cracked it.

   
    
 
Lots of new stitches discovered doing this. I’m hoping it’ll get easier the more I do. Ends sewn in and I have to admit quite a few hours of enjoyable hooking have led to this one square. One down, many more to go! All 13 rows and 940 stitches of it.

6 thoughts on “New tricks, new blanket 

    • Vicki October 13, 2015 / 8:17 pm

      Thanks Hannah, i’m pleased with the colours too, really vibrant. The pattern looks harder than it is. Except that last colour…… Grrrrr!! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

