Christmas crazy 

I love Christmas. No, I mean I REALLY love Christmas. Just call me Mrs. Christmas. It’s probably my favourite time of the year. I love the build-up to it anyway. I’m extremely predictable when it comes to how I feel about it. The month leading up to the big day is brilliant, the actual day is good, quite hard work and a bit of an anti climax if I’m honest, then by Boxing Day I’m so over Christmas and just want to start taking the decorations down, get the chocolates eaten and the house returned to normal. Every year I’ve been the same, without fail. I do tend to wait till New Year’s Day normally to take the tree down but not a day longer. It’s always such a good feeling getting the house straight again and having a good spring clean. It feels much bigger too doesn’t it?

This year though, my mind turned to thoughts of Christmas much earlier, before we went on holiday in fact. I really don’t know what’s come over me. It’s like one of Father Christmas’s elves sneaked down and spiked my drink with festive cheer ! I’m not complaining, I’m loving feeling all festive, but I think I’m alone in my thoughts. I don’t care though, I shall carry on spreading merriness wherever I go and everyone else can catch me up when they’re good and ready.

I’m almost done with the Christmas gift buying.  Just a few to go. I’ve sent big son up into the loft to dig out all the decorations. I’ve made a start on dressing the hall, I don’t usually do a great deal out there but I have big plans for it this year, watch this space….

  
There, a little hint of what I have in mind. That’s all you’re getting for now!

One thing about the lead up to the big day is movies. I just love Christmas movies, so much. We’re getting quite a collection now..

  
Now I believe Christmas movies have their own categories within. You’ve got your old classics like White Christmas, It’s a Wonderful Life, Holiday Inn. Your RomCom/Chick Flick ones such as Love Actually (probably my all time favourite), The Holiday. There’s the brilliant TV specials, Gavin and Stacey, The Royle Family, The Vicar of Dibley & Only Fools. The kids magical ones, The Snowman, Polar Express and many more. Then there’s the likes of Elf, Santa Clause the Movie, Scrooge, The Grinch, all great movies even though they’re watched every year. You also have the ones that aren’t actually Christmas films, but you still associate them with it. The Wizard of Oz, Oliver, Gremlins, Home Alone. There are of course far too many to mention. I’m making it my mission this year to get through them all. That’s never happened so far. I’m thinking if I plan well in advance it can be done. Now wether my family will be joining me in my festive mission is another matter. If not, it’ll be a one woman affair upstairs in my bedroom. With chocolate. And wine. And crochet. I have no problem with that. 

The Christmas cd’s are out of the cupboard, ready to be blasted out. Including the new Kylie Christmas cd my hubby insisted I have! We’re also planning a little party for a few of the neighbours and friends. It took me ages but I made a few invites for those not on social media.

   
    
 
It was nice to get my stamps out again, I’ll have to do more in the new year.

I think this weekend will be spent indoors as the weather is meant to be really bad. Our village has had to cancel its annual Christmas lights celebrations as the forecast is so bad. It’s a shame as I was really looking forward to it. Oh well, I shall immerse myself in Christmas magazines instead, not forgetting my trusty Kirstie’s Christmas Crafts bible.

 

And of course I’ll be continuing with my crochet project…

 
Have a fabulous festive weekend folks 

Vicki xxx 

One thought on “Christmas crazy 

  1. Paardje November 28, 2015 / 1:06 am

    Yes, you wear “Mrs. Christmas” very well, I’d agree 🙂 I didn’t know there are that many Christmas movies already. LOL! Impressive stash!

    Like

Leave a Reply

