Hooking like a mad woman 

I’m really feeling the pressure now. I don’t work well under pressure and tend to flap a bit. I thought when I started this latest project that I had all the time in the world, and I actually did give myself quite a bit of time in which to complete this. I just haven’t found enough time on a regular basis to keep on top of it, and my pattern choice hasn’t helped things progress well either. It’s not actually a hard blanket to do,  well except the bit that I’m working on now. It’s just very time consuming. Not my best choice in the world, but it will be lovely WHEN it’s finished. 

I’m currently just over two thirds of the way through finishing the final colour of the 9 squares.

  
There’s four rows in the blue to do on each square and to be quite honest, it’s a bitch! I have to concentrate so hard as there’s lots of counting stitches and changing stitches. The amount of times I had to undo bits because I’d got distracted. I will not be sad to see the back of this part of the blanket, I can tell you. I hate to talk in a negative way about crochet as I love it, I just don’t love doing it to a deadline when I’ve already got so many other things to do too. I will learn a lesson from this I’m sure!

So once I’ve done the two last squares, I need to sew in all the ends, urgh. Then block them, another first for me. I do think they need it though. Then join the squares together. THEN….. I need to decide what stitches to do around the whole of the blanket in all of the colours to make it quite a bit larger. I’m kinda making it up as I go along now as the pattern was just for the blocks. If any of you hooky friends out there in blogland have any suggestions, they would be most welcome! I’ll do a post once I’ve got to this stage, hopefully in a few days.

Thanks so much for taking the time to stop and read my ramblings, it really does mean a lot to me.

Vicki xxx

Ps: WordPress have just announced that this is my 100th blog post, wow! I’m rather impressed with myself!

2 thoughts on “Hooking like a mad woman 

  1. Paardje December 13, 2015 / 2:10 am

    Oh dear, I can imagine the pressure you must feel. I wish I could just come over and help you 😀 I am working on lace granny squares right now too and I’ve had to unravel and re-do several times already because the pattern won’t allow any form of distraction – so I know how annoying that feels. But I know you’ll finish it somehow, and you’ll come out stronger (wiser) on the other side 🙂 Good luck, may the force be with you!

    And congrats on your 100th post 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki December 13, 2015 / 9:03 am

      Ah that’s so lovely of you! Wouldn’t it be great if us like minded bloggers all over the world could meet up for little crafty get togethers? Good luck with your lace squares, sounds very tricky, can’t wait to see it. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

