Colourful Christmas blanket…Ta Dah!

Happy Christmas Eve everyone! I bring you this post with a completed blanket, just in the nick of time. I actually finished it around 1am this morning and then spent the rest of the night attempting to sleep in a toddler bed, with a toddler poking my eyes out and with an already sore neck. It’s safe to say, this morning I’m a wee bit grumpy.

So, when I last left you, I still had a little way to go with my squares. Just as I was about to finish the last one, disaster struck. I realised right near the centre I’d not done enough stitches and it’d thrown the whole thing out. Arghh!! I was devastated. So, I had to unpick it down to this and redo it. Not what I needed when the pressure was already on.

  
Even my hubby knew how I must have been feeling and gave me a reassuring rub on the arm. 

Once all 9 squares were finished and ends sewn in, I did my first bit of blocking. I’m not sure if I did it right, but they did look a bit better afterwards.

   

My nice little pile of squares, ready to join..

   

Once joined, this was the result.

   
 
It actually looked larger than I expected, bonus! I decided that to get this blanket bigger and better and fast, I needed to get back to the very reliable, good old granny stitch. 

  
I went round once in each colour. I was going to do the same again but time was pressing so I began the final descent. Two rows of double crochet then a nice bumpy border.

  
I really enjoyed doing this border, apart from the fact it meant I was close to finishing, it had a nice flow to it. Perfect for doing while watching Christmas movies.

So here it is, my Christmas pressie to my lovely nan-in-law…

   
    
    
    
 
I’m really quite happy with this. I’ve enjoyed making it even though there were some tricky bits too. I’ve especially loved working with the stylecraft yarn, I’m definitely a convert.

Well, I’m going to sign off now. All my presents are wrapped, food shopping done. Time to maybe make some gingerbread men and peppermint creams. And if I’m lucky, a glass of mulled wine in front of a black and white Christmas movie.

Have a wonderful Christmas everyone xxx

    

4 thoughts on “Colourful Christmas blanket…Ta Dah!

  1. Paardje December 26, 2015 / 4:56 am

    Oh it’s definitely a beauty. Great job! ❤ Merry Christmas 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki December 26, 2015 / 6:24 am

      Thanks so much! It’s always nice to hear compliments from fellow crafty folk! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

