Baby it’s cold outside

Hello! How are you all? Well I don’t know about you but the weather here today has just been dull, wet and freezing cold.

  
Actually it’s pretty much been this way for some time and I hate it. The only thing I like about it is feeling all snug and warm indoors.

These beauties are making me smile though everytime I walk past and get a whiff. I do love hyacinths, they make me believe spring is just around the corner.

  
I’ve been having urges to cook lately too, from scratch. I got a Mary Berry cookbook in the January sales and keep browsing through. The recipes aren’t too fancy, just good, wholesome family meals. I made this tandoori chicken the other night, it was lovely. I even made a little chutney to go with it which I’m definitely doing again. I was rather pleased with myself and the hubby said he enjoyed it too.

  
As for crafty goings on, my friend Jan the sewing machine has been let out of the basement for a bit of air.

  
I had a few repairs to do….

  
One of the cushions I made last year had come apart. I must have sewn it a wee bit close to the edge. It was a 60 second job. Sewing is all about quick results, not like crochet. But I still have my reservations, I think I’m very much daunted by it. My mum’s an expert on the sewing machine, but I’ve never had any confidence with it. I hope to change that this year. I’m leaving the machine out as I have a couple of other jobs that need doing. Watch this space! 

I had a bit of a sort out of my cottons and it turns out I have a little collection of high quality reels. Get me!

  
All hand me downs from my mum! Well, all except the blue on the left. I bought that myself for a particular project..

  
Only trouble is its quite a few shades out.. Think I might be better off using the cream or pink for this one.

  
I’ve also discovered a new place to take the little man on a Monday. A very unique place near us called Port Sunlight (google it, it has tons of history) has a museum and art gallery called Lady Levers. They have a free session for under 5’s every week with loads of toys and crafts, it’s great. I think this will become a regular Monday morning thing. 

  
This afternoon, I decided to light a fire as I was so cold, even with the heating on. It makes things so cosy. And, my baking urges crept in. With the lack of much butter, I found a quick and easy recipe using sunflower oil instead and made some muffins. I have to say they are rather good!

  
Nice and light and fluffy, and a perfect accompaniment to a mug of hot tea.

  
Well that’s about it for now peeps, I have been quite busy crocheting, here’s a little teaser of just one thing I’m working on…

  

but will save that for another day. 

Keep warm, V xxx

8 thoughts on “Baby it’s cold outside

  1. Paardje January 22, 2016 / 12:09 am

    It might be cold outside but you sure make it really cozy inside šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zeens and Roger January 22, 2016 / 8:30 am

    Use the blue thread! We’re about to put on a load of waterproofs to go to school. Don’t want to. šŸ˜¦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki January 22, 2016 / 8:43 am

      You think the blue’s ok? Don’t envy you one bit, hope you don’t get too wet. Good luck! X

      Like

      • Zeens and Roger January 22, 2016 / 9:19 am

        I’m guessing it’s for the fabric that looks pale blue with flowers? If so, then yep. You’ll still see it but you’ll see the others too. I usually go for a slightly darker shade of thread than the fabric. Having said that, your thread is quite a lot darker than the fabric but it’d be the one I’d choose out of the three. Years and years ago I worked in a fabric shop and that was one of the things I learned! Mind you, it depends on what you’re making!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vicki January 22, 2016 / 11:37 am

        Yes it’s that fabric. Funny how I thought when I bought the cotton it was a close match! I didn’t have the fabric with me though. It’s just for a little curtain to go in my pantry so doesn’t matter too much. X

        Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki January 22, 2016 / 11:43 am

      I’m hoping to get it done in the next week or so. Will be doing a little post about the pantry so it’ll appear in there I’m sure! šŸ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

