The Pantry

We are extremely lucky to have a really handy utility room on the end of our house.  We always call it The Pantry though as it’s where The Pamper Pantry used to call home. If you’ve just clicked on that link and found yourself reading my previous blog post called ‘Pamper Pantry Reminiscing’ then I’m a clever girl as I’ve been trying to work out how to do that for ages! If not, then it’s back to the drawing board for me.  I’m certainly not the most techno savvy of people and need all the help I can get.

It used to be painted Passion Pink which was a perfect palette for the Pamper Pantry.  But since I closed that down, I decided it should be a much calmer, pale blue. We decided some time ago that we really needed an extra loo in our house. One upstairs bathroom in a large four bedroom house with six people in really wasn’t enough. There were always queues for the loo and knocks on the door just as you’d settled into a nice warm bubble bath. The only place we could squeeze an extra loo in was the pantry.  It was do-able but not that easy.

IMG_1125IMG_1127IMG_1124IMG_1122IMG_1121

These pictures were taken while our kitchen was being done back in June so we’d been using this as a makeshift kitchen. It’s such a useful space as it houses our washing machine & tumble dryer.  Our rubbish bin is also in here as Amber our bullmastiff would eat the contents if it were in the kitchen! The boiler is in here too which makes it super warm and toastie.  But the best thing about this room is this…

IMG_1123

An old victorian clothes airer. It has one wooden rod missing which one day I hope to replace but it is THE best thing for drying laundry. It’s right above a boiling hot radiator so when the heating is on, the warm air rises right up to the airer. It’s in constant use as you can imagine with a family of six, I wish I had another of these, I’d be sorted then!

So, when the builders were here doing our kitchen, we got them to make a start on the new loo area.

IMG_1535

They boxed it all in, the plumber laid all new waste pipes and fitted the loo.  It has made a HUGE difference to us having this. So much more practical.  The builder was meant to be ordering some new worktop as the above was just a temporary solution. He said he’d be back early August.

We waited,                                                                                                                     And waited,                                                                                                                          And waited a bit more…..                                                                                                Then chased him up….                                                                                                     On about 3 separate occasions….

Eventually we gave up.  We finally managed to source some worktop ourselves and had to go begging cap in hand to my father-in-law to fit it for us. He did an absolutely amazing job. I don’t think it was the easiest of tasks at all but it’s really transformed the room. He also replaced a pane of glass with a frosted pane for privacy.

I touched up the walls with paint, my hubby put up a new light ( which has made it the lightest, brightest room in the house) and put up a new blind. I also made a little curtain with some matching fabric from IKEA to hide all the chicken and dog feed stored behind it. I was really happy with my little bit of sewing here, I actually did quite a decent job. So here’s the finished result.


  
  
  

I took this panoramic picture to try and give you an idea of the overall room. It’s not easy taking photos of little rooms!


There’s a lovely lot of worktop space for folding and sorting laundry. The handy cupboards store all our medicines, shoe cleaning kit, spare batteries and light bulbs. Also in the corner is our rubbish bin, recycling, vacuum cleaner and mop. All the things that are a pain to store. It’s so warm and toastie in there I find myself lingering in there longer than I need to. I think I’ve succeeded in making practical pretty. Although I have a couple of ideas to make it even prettier, but that’ll have to wait a while. There’s far too much else I must do first.

Thanks for stopping by to read me witter on, it means a lot 😊
 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Pantry

  1. Hannahbanana Crafts February 18, 2016 / 8:11 am

    Your link worked perfectly 🙂 Your new loo/pantry room is just so pretty! What a useful space to have to hide all the household stuff in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki February 18, 2016 / 8:16 am

      Definitely, I know I’m very lucky to have it. So glad the link worked, only trouble is, it’s been about 4 months since I started writing that post. I’ve forgotten what I did! Oh well! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Zeens and Roger February 18, 2016 / 10:04 pm

    What colour thread did you choose for your curtains?!!
    The clothes dryer thingy is indispensable in our house, got one from Amazon.
    Is that a cat flap next to your loo? I hope so, we’ve got a cat flap in our downstairs toilet. The cat sometimes comes in from outside to sit with whoever might be in there. Not everyone enjoys that but I think it’s hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki February 18, 2016 / 10:21 pm

      I was actually extremely lazy and went with the white cotton that was already in my sewing machine. I spent a the whole time thinking ‘the bobbins gonna run out any second!’ Forgive me, I know I sinned. The cat flap was there when we moved in as the previous owner was a mad cat lady but we got it changed to a solid pvc piece as it was causing a draft!

      Like

      • Zeens and Roger February 19, 2016 / 7:15 am

        The last thing you want is a draft right by the bog!
        Such a sewing sinner. Think it’s a crime I commit on a regular basis though…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

