Painted Kilner jars

Some time ago while browsing through Pinterest, I stumbled upon a photo of mason jars painted in pretty colours. They looked so gorgeous. And of course my immediate thought was, ooh! I could do that! These ideas often take a while to come to fruition, but I finally got round to it. Helped by the fact my friend wanted me to do some for her new kitchen.

I did my research into chalk paints and found these gorgeous natural powder pigments that you mix at home to make up small quantities of chalk paint. 

After doing some sample tester jars and agreeing colours, I set to with the first of many coats.

  
After many, many coats and a bit of sanding in between, I ended up with these…

   
I do think they look lovely as they are but the plan was to slightly distress them.

 
As these are for a kitchen and will need wiping occasionally, they really needed to be sealed. I used some Annie Sloan wax to just protect them a bit.

  
So here’s the completed jars..

  
I’m really happy with the result and I showed my friend today who said she loves them too, hurrah! These ones are going to be used for tea, coffee & sugar but you could also use them for storing pasta or rice. Actually you could store anything in them, buttons, ribbons, colouring pencils, or it would also make a really pretty vase. Think I’m going to have to make some more soon for selling šŸ˜Š

Thanks for stopping by xx

4 thoughts on “Painted Kilner jars

    • Vicki March 1, 2016 / 7:09 pm

      Thank you, I love them too šŸ˜Š

      Like

Leave a Reply

