The beauty of bluebells 


The humble bluebell.  A beautiful and delicate plant in its own right. But when you find them en masse in the bluebell woods, they’re truly breathtaking. I’ve been longing to visit them for ages now but I wanted to wait till they were properly out and for the wet weather to come to an end. I had a couple of hours to kill yesterday and the sun was shining so I took my chance and went to our closest national trust place, Speke Hall.

Now as usual, I did get a bit carried away with photo taking. I just couldn’t help myself though. When you’re there, in amongst them all, you just want to capture every moment because it’s all so beautiful. The photos really don’t do them justice but it’s the next best thing to actually being there in person. Pictures certainly can’t convey the aroma in the air and the sound of birdsong. Anyway, I honestly did restrain myself when selecting which photos to use here. You may not think so but I promise I did! If you’re not a lover of bluebells then look away now…


There, all done. If you’ve got this far then I thank you for sticking with it! Aren’t they beautiful? It’s just like a violet haze covering the ground. The woods are a very special place to be at this time of year.

2 thoughts on “The beauty of bluebells 

Leave a Reply

