A West Kirby walk


The weather was unexpectedly bootiful this morning, so quick on my feet, I decided a visit to the coast was in order. Just me and my little man. I got sorted, did the school run, and headed towards the sea. The drive was enjoyable too, through some lush countryside, with the sun shining, birds singing, windows down and a nice breeze keeping us cool. It seemed like everyone was out and about walking their dogs or going for a jog.

I got to West Kirby and parked up right by the marina. As soon as I stepped out of the car and looked across the lake, I was just amazed. The water looked like a pane of glass. It was so still.


The pictures don’t really do it justice, it was very sunny and warm.

West Kirby marine lake is the perfect length for a walk. It takes around 40 minutes to get round it at a slowish pace. Just enough exercise before you get too tired!


There’s a really nice atmosphere here, whenever you go. Everyone smiles and says hello.


Can you see the hills in the background in the picture above? That’s Wales. It looks close enough to walk to but I bet it’s a lot further than you think.


Last time me and my hubby came here together, I sneaked through the chains to get a close up photo of this…


I’m a sucker for anything that says the word ‘love’. Such a bizarre place to see it though, I’d love to know the story behind it.


I get such a feel-good feeling from being by the sea. I think it’s all that fresh, sea air. I love it in any weather but summertime is the best.


We saw this lonely seagull paddling along all by himself.


Almost round to the beginning.


These jetties look so inviting. It’d be heaven on a hot day like today to sit on the very end and dangle your feet in the cool water.


We finished our little jolly with a sit down in the park just opposite the lake. We had a drink and a snack with the whole park to ourselves, and Jude picked me these pretty daisies. Bless him.


I should start the day this way more often, it puts a real spring in my step.

Leave a Reply

