Ooh, new bunting!

If you know me by now, then you’ll know I Love bunting with a capital L! Well I decided that the tatty old stuff in the garden had well and truly had its day and as we’re due to open our garden again soon for The Oxton Secret Gardens event, I thought this was the perfect opportunity to go fabric shopping.

I came back with this lovely lot.


Well all except the green polka dot one which my mum gave me a couple of years ago. I knew I’d find a use for it one day. I was hoping to find some nice oilcloth fabric to use as I thought it’d last a bit better outdoors but the only stuff in the shop was horrid. Not bunting worthy at all.

I got myself all set up in my freshly painted dining room (yay, I finally finished all the decorating!)


With pinking shears at the ready, I started to cut out my flags. It was a perfectly peaceful hour spent. Complete silence apart from the pitter patter sound of the rain coming down outside. This is a very rare occurance in this house and it was bliss!

My poor bunting template has more holes in it than a dartboard. It’s done me for years though, I’m sure it can manage a few more.


The sight of all these pretty triangles makes me very happy indeed.


In amongst my piles of fabric which has grown over the years, I had these pretty lace panels. 


I’d had no clue what I’d use them for but they were too nice to get rid off. I thought I’d add a few to some of the polka dot flags to make them a bit more special.


It didn’t take long at all to sew these together.  A quick press with an iron and I couldn’t wait to get them outdoors.

One set for the chickens… (And why not?!)


And one set for the top end of the garden..


I’m rather pleased with it. I love the fact that sewing is such a quick craft as opposed to crochet. I’m still hooking away at the cosy Kermit blanket.

If I had my way then I’d have bunting everywhere but I think my hubby would have one or two things to say about that! You can’t get away from the fact though that bunting makes everything better!

Vicki xxx

One thought on “Ooh, new bunting!

Leave a Reply

