So long Honey

I had a different blog post all ready to bring you tonight, but that one can wait. We’ve had a poorly chicken for a couple of weeks now. I first noticed that she wasn’t running for food with all the other girls and was just standing as if in a trance. We separated her from the others as we recognised symptoms from previous occasions. She had antibiotics but they weren’t helping and she wasn’t eating a thing. We tried feeding her a special liquid food for really poorly small animals but even that did nothing. We took her to the vets today and as expected, he told us that the kindest thing would be for us to say goodbye to her as it was extremely unlikely that she would ever improve.

Well myself and our eldest were a blubbering mess. A very kindly lady saw how upset I was and asked that I be seen to first at reception. She said I know how upsetting it can be. That made me worse! Random acts of kindness always make me cry anyway. And could I find a tissue in my handbag? Of course not. I know we did the right thing for Honey but it still makes you feel like absolute rubbish. We’d had her since she was a little chick.

So long Honey xxx

2 thoughts on “So long Honey

  1. lucyannluna June 18, 2016 / 7:03 am

    I’m sure you did the right thing, poor honey has crossed the rainbow bridge, & is now feeding on the juiciest worms she can find & warming her feathers in the Sun ( I’m sure it’s not wet & chilly on the other side of the bridge)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Vicki June 18, 2016 / 8:31 am

      Ah thank you so much! I’ve welled up again ūüė≠ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

