London baby!

Apologies for the absence, we’ve had a few lovely days away visiting my family down in Kent. After a 7 hour journey down there we were exhausted. I had planned this visit down to the very last minute. I figured that if I did that, we wouldn’t waste time dithering about what to do and there wouldn’t be any disagreements. I wanted to make the most of every moment. It actually worked out well. The following morning, we got up early and jumped on the 9.04 train to London. Jude was rather excited as he has a huge train obsession. After about 20 minutes the novelty wore off though. It turns out he much prefers playing with them to travelling on one.  Our plan once reaching the city, was to hit the natural history museum first, that plan got scuppered by ridiculous queues to get in. The science museum just behind however had no queue whatsoever. We spent a while in there then made our way to Piccadilly Circus.


There just happened to be the Cath Kidston flagship store there, so I thought it’d be rude not to. It was amazing although I didn’t have time to look properly. I did make a couple of purchases though, from the sale rail of course! After that we decided to go for some lunch. There’s a great place we always end up in Soho called Bodeans.

They do the best pulled pork burgers I’ve ever tasted. Very reasonably priced too considering it’s London.

 

After lunch we went to some comic book shops for our eldest then found ourselves near Covent Garden. It’s been years since I’ve walked through there, I forgot how nice it is.


The weather was looking a bit grim by this stage but we carried on regardless. Up to Carnaby Street next.


There were some nice shops here but the one I really wanted was Liberty of London. 


I’d never been before and I fell in love. It was so much more than I was expecting. I felt like I really shouldn’t be taking photos in there but I couldn’t resist. Everywhere I turned I was wowed. It’s a beautiful building inside and out. They had these amazing chandeliers hanging through the centre. 


I only really looked on a couple of the floors as time was tight and kids were getting bored. I’d love to come back sometime and do an adult only day, it’d be a whole different experience.

Here’s a few yummy images from inside that I swooned over.


Isn’t it just amazing? Did you spot the fabric and all that yarn? I’d love to get my hands on some of that.

Next stop was Oxford street for the boys to visit the sport shops. We were all getting very tired now, we’d walked for miles. We grabbed a box of Krispy Creme doughnuts and sat in Trafalgar Square to eat them. It was my first ever Krispy Creme so I thought it should be a special moment.


We were ready to drop so got on the train to head back. It was a great day but also nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Everything is so busy in London, it does feel like you can’t stop, breathe and enjoy it. I certainly couldn’t work or live there but nice for just a day.

One thought on “London baby!

  1. Zeens and Roger August 1, 2016 / 6:50 pm

    Looks like you had a great time. I’d love to take the kids but it’d be a mission and a half. On my last visit my sister-in-law took me to Goldhawk Road in Shepherd’s Bush. So many fabric shops!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

