Camping crochet cushion 

Do you remember my little camping crochet project? The last time you saw it, it was looking like this…


Once we’d got home, unpacked and I’d started the mission of post camping washing, I was itching to continue this project. I started by framing each circle with white to make it into a square. It was actually a lot quicker than I thought.


I really love the effect of the different shades of the same colour. I can see me doing something like this in the future. Hmmm, lots of ideas flying around. Once they were all done, I needed to block them as they’d gone a bit curly.


I was thoroughly enjoying this. Now to join.


This is the difference between blocked and unblocked. What a difference a bit of steam makes. I measured each side up against my cushion pad but it was not quite big enough yet. I decided to add some rows of trebles.


I joined the two sides around the pad and debated whether or not to put a fancy border on it. I decided not, thought it best to keep it simple. So here it is…


And on its final resting place 


I think the colours are a perfect match.

There was no set pattern I followed for this cushion.  I combined two patterns to get the circle how I wanted it, then part of another pattern to do the framing. The rest I just made up as I went. I’m pretty pleased with it.

I think along with the blooming flower I’m already making, I may just have to do one more cushion for here. After all, you can never have too many cushions can you?

18 thoughts on “Camping crochet cushion 

  1. MrsCraft September 13, 2016 / 8:38 pm

    It’s turned out lovely. 😊 I agree, you can never have too many cushions (my kids would say the same about blankets!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki September 13, 2016 / 8:44 pm

      Aw, thanks! I must work on my blanket collection, they’ve all been for everybody else up to now! X

      Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki September 14, 2016 / 6:40 am

      Thanks so much ☺️

      Like

  2. The Artisan Duck September 15, 2016 / 6:43 pm

    It’s a lovely cushion – so envious that you can turn a ball of wool (sorry, yarn as my sister keeps telling me!) into something so pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki September 15, 2016 / 7:02 pm

      Ha ha! I often say wool too ☺️ thank you for your compliment, I’m envious that you can turn a piece of paper and a paintbrush into something amazing! X

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thejessicacali October 26, 2016 / 3:43 pm

    That turned out really pretty! I really like the colors you did this cushion in!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki October 26, 2016 / 3:46 pm

      Ah thankyou! I did too, that much that I did another two different cushions in them! Blog post coming in a couple of days xx

      Like

    • Vicki January 12, 2017 / 6:58 am

      Ah, thank you so much! Xx

      Like

  4. Create-A-Holic Writer February 21, 2017 / 7:07 pm

    I’ve also made a few different projects using those bullseye squares. They’re so much fun to work on! I used them last year to make all of my little nieces cute little tote bags in lots of wild colours. Your beach cushion is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki February 21, 2017 / 7:08 pm

      Ah thank you so much! I loved every bit of this, might have to make another soon 😊 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

