Snap Happy

You probably already know but I kinda love to take photos. Of all kinds of things.I get extremely carried away.  I’m the designated family photographer so if I don’t take photos then they don’t exist.  This also means I rarely appear in the family photos but that suits me most of the time. I’ve never liked having my photo taken. It would be nice to be in some, so there’s evidence I was actually there and when the kids look back on them in years to come, they can see us as a whole family.  I think photos are such a treat to look back on, they can spark memories of days out, places you’d forgotten about and can take you right back into that very moment.  I think my earliest memory was of being at a park on top of a slide and I was wearing some fabulous seventies get-up. There’s a photo somewhere of that day and I think seeing that photo from time to time probably helped to keep that memory alive.

My cousin and uncle recently dug out some old, old photos of when we were young and when my parents and grandparents were young too. It was really great to see them, I got quite emotional.

It’s so easy in this day and age to take photos at a seconds notice, not like when you had to remember to carry your camera with you, make sure it was charged, or even back when you had to have a 35mm film and only got one shot or you’d waste the film. Then you had to wait ages for bonus print to process them only to find it covered in one of those stickers. Or when your uncle  had one of those flashes that looked like a tower attached to the top of his camera? Do you remember those? All of my photos are taken with my i-phone which I think has a great little camera. One day about 18 months ago, I just happened to be in the right place at the right time.  I’d gone for a little walk with my eldest and youngest son down to New Brighton, about ten minutes drive from our home. As we were walking along the weather seemed to turn.  It was really quite eerie but at the same time rather wonderful to be there to witness this unusual occurrence first hand.

IMG_3435

IMG_3441

IMG_3440

Using the wonders of modern technology, I uploaded them straight onto Facebook.  Within an hour or so, my little photos had been shared around the internet, onto a couple of weather pages and a I had local businesses wanting to use them.  Then I was contacted by the Liverpool Echo who wanted to feature my picture in the paper! It was all very exciting.  It made the front page as well as inside.


More recently, I often edit my photos a bit, just to try and make them the best that they can be. I don’t mean photoshop or anything but I use Instagram.  It wasn’t even until recently that I actually started to use Instagram as a social media platform, it was purely a photo editing app to me! I always try to put maximum effort into making something as good as I can get it.

I often think it’d be amazing to be able to blink and capture the image that you see before you.  So many times the photo never quite does the subject justice. I’ve been told and I like to think that I have an eye for a good photograph (although I hate to blow my own trumpet). I’ve learnt that to take a good photo there are lots of elements to consider like light, angles, background and positioning amongst many, many more. Obviously I’m not a professional but I would like to do a course one day and learn properly.  Although that’d mean I’d have to buy a decent camera with scary settings and stuff cos I don’t expect they’d let me in with my little i-phone! Though saying that, you can get lenses especially for camera phones now that allow you to try different effects.

  


This blog post has actually been sitting in the drafts folder for about a year, yes a year! It didn’t have any written content, just a title and some photos. It’s taken until this week when a friend asked me to take some photos of her knitted and crocheted toys and accessories for her, that made me think I really must get around to finishing it.  I thoroughly enjoyed conducting a little photo shoot in my dining room and I was pretty pleased with the results too.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Snap Happy

    • Vicki October 26, 2016 / 3:48 pm

      Aw thankyou very much! That’s teally lovely of you xx šŸ˜˜

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The Artisan Duck November 3, 2016 / 11:07 am

    I love looking at your photos – you really do have a good eye for it. There is always something interesting to look at or the colours are just right to make it eye catching and I often sit thinking ‘hmmmm, I wonder if I could paint that’ (I haven’t forgotten a copy of the blueberries picture I promised you – its on my to do list). That cloud picture is quite eerie! Hx

    Ps, sorry for all the comments today – I am trying to catch up after a busy few weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki November 3, 2016 / 11:40 am

      Ha ha! It’s lovely having so much action going on today! Thank you for your kind words, I really do appreciate them. Look forward to the blueberry picture, as and when you have time. No hurry, I know how busy you must be! Thanks šŸ˜Š xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

