Bloggy Dilemma

I’ve known this day would come but was hoping it wouldn’t be for ages yet. I’ve used up my 3GB of media space here in my little blog which means I can’t upload any more photos!!! Arghh! This is devastating for me as a big part of my blog writing is done through my photos too. I’m in a right pickle and really don’t know what to do. I had to delete a few older pictures the other day just in order to do my poppy post. I really don’t want to delete any old posts or pictures because to me this is a lovely diary that I can look back on and see my progress and remember some great times.  It’s not just the pictures but how I felt at the time.  So my options are to pay an annual fee to upgrade my blog to get more space which will run out again at some point in the future. Not really happy to be paying out either as the blog doesn’t earn me any money. The only other option is to start up all over again with a different blog provider. I’ve had a quick look at what’s out there and it seems there are free options with unlimited storage.It would also mean leaving behind all my lovely WordPress followers that I’ve built up over the last 22 months. Starting to build up a new following all over again doesn’t appeal but what can I do? Do any of you have any suggestions or experience with other blog sites? I’d love to hear any ideas you may have.

Thanks, Vicki xxx

9 thoughts on “Bloggy Dilemma

  1. PaperPuff November 14, 2016 / 8:18 pm

    I have no personal knowledge to help, but I saw someone had moved their older blog content to an archive site. It might have been for a similar reason but I am not certain. Might be worth checking out as I think he explained the hows and whys. Search for Green Embers. He is with wordpress too. If you can’t find it come back to me and I will see if I can find the post. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MrsCraft November 14, 2016 / 9:19 pm

    Good luck! I too am worried about that day, hopefully I won’t get there too quickly. I’m sure you’d get other followers with a different provider. It’s be time consuming but where you have posts with lots of photos you could do a pic collage of them, delete the multiple photos and then upload the collage which could reduce the space used quote considerably. Labour intensive bit something I’m considering for when the dreaded time comes. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki November 14, 2016 / 9:25 pm

      Thanks! Definitely something to bear in mind! Xx

      Like

    • Bethany-Jade November 15, 2016 / 3:53 pm

      I agree. I am nowhere near my limit at the mo but I already try to make collages where possible to minimise the file size!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Zeens and Roger November 15, 2016 / 11:29 am

    What about shrinking your photos? It’d take time but it’s another option. You can do it in wordpress from the media library. I’ve done it to individual pictures, not sure if you could do them all in one go. Probs not as that would be too easy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki November 15, 2016 / 6:39 pm

      Ooh didn’t know about that, thanks! Will definitely give that a go 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Artisan Duck November 18, 2016 / 10:22 am

    I have no idea how you can get around it but just if you do move blogs let me know where you are going!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

