Outdoorsy things

This week has been full of outdoorsy stuff with the warm weather. The weather has kind of annoyed me actually. Not because it’s been nice, but because it said it was going to be rubbish, then wasn’t, so I didn’t plan accordingly. So frustrating when you miss out on a few precious laundry drying hours. Anyway, we’ve been pottering in the garden quite a bit. I had a good weed and sweep underneath our table, it always gets forgotten about.


I also tended to this area.


The bamboos are stunning but they do make a mess, shedding all year round it feels like. It is quite a therapeutic task though.  Lovely when the sun is shining especially. I tend to find the little tucked away spaces in the garden my favourite, like my hidden bench.


We’ve done lots of dining outdoors, morning and night.


There’s lots of lovely colour and growth still going on, even though many have finished now. It’s amazing how quickly the garden evolves in just a few weeks.


I love the different stages of growth here in the hydrangea, those creamy green shades with the pinky tips, full of promise to bloom into the most beautiful, vibrant pink flowers.


One of my favourite stages of a flower blooming is when they’re still practically a bud with a teensy bit of colour showing. Just popping their pretty heads out to say hello.


This little corner here always looks like autumn no matter what season it is.


The muted colours are gorgeous, very calming and gentle. It’s like a teeny tiny woodland corner. There used to be a little fairy door at the bottom of the tree but it’s magically vanished. The hubster was never a big fan, hmmm. There is evidence of fairies at the bottom of the garden though, look, fairy wings! Well, according to my step daughter they are anyway.

Yesterday we took a little trip out for our annual strawberry picking, something I’m keen to keep up every summer. Make it one our family traditions that Jude will remember about his childhood. It’s such a wholesome, feel good activity.

We got to ride on the tractor which made Jude’s day.


The sky looked very dark indeed but it was so warm still.


My little helper was good carrying the punnet. He only dropped the lot once. And he only ate one strawberry on the way round.


And our little bounty. The smell is so sweet and the taste even sweeter. Our very own blueberries in our garden will be ready for picking soon too.


In the afternoon we went across the border into the lush, green land of Wales. We’re members of the National Trust so took the opportunity, while the weather was good to visit Chirk castle.

I kind of feel it deserves its own post though so will leave that for another day. 
I did say I was going to bring you a crafty post but with all this outdoorsy stuff happening I haven’t had much chance. Next one, I promise xx

11 thoughts on “Outdoorsy things

  1. The Artisan Duck July 24, 2016 / 3:11 pm

    Gorgeous photos. You have such skill with photography. I love the expression on your little boy’s face with that strawberry 🍓 It’s like he is contemplating how delicious it would be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki July 24, 2016 / 3:52 pm

      Ah, thank you, that’s made my day 😊 I do love taking photos, a little too much! Yes, ha ha, he does. He did enjoy it 🍓

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Artisan Duck July 28, 2016 / 5:07 pm

        Hello Vicki, I was wondering if you be ok with me painting one of your photos (I totally fell in love with the with the blueberries in it) and posting on my blog, Instagram, fb. I would obviously give you credit for the original photo and link back to your blog where possible.

        If you would rather I didn’t that’s fine 🙂 Hannah x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vicki July 28, 2016 / 10:06 pm

        Of course Hannah, I’d be honoured! Ooh, looking forward to seeing it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vicki July 28, 2016 / 10:08 pm

        Brilliant! Happy painting 🎨 x

        Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki September 20, 2016 / 8:17 am

      Wow, thank you Paulette, that’s such a lovely thing for you to say! I do like telling my stories with pictures, usually far too many. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment